• Scientific Name: Calidris alba (Pallas, 1764)
  • Polynesian Names: Turi, tuki (Marquises)
  • Order: Charadriiformes
  • Family: Scolopacidae
  • Category: Migratory Birds
  • Location: Arctique (native), Tropical Islands

Apearance and identification

8 inches. Male and female identical in appearance. When it winters in French Polynesia, its plumage is grey-beige on top and white underneath. The cap and the periphery of the eye show the overall colour of the back. The beak and legs are black. This is the palest of sandpipers found in the Territory.

Videos

Voice

Characteristics

It breeds in the Arctic from June to August and winters from September to May in the tropical Pacific. It is common in Hawaii and the Marshall Islands but is rare in French Polynesia. Present in the East Tuamotu and the Marquesas. It has also been reported in Scilly, Maupiti, Huahine Tahiti and Raivavae (Austral Islands).

It occurs only in the Arctic. It nests in gravel. The female lays 3-4 eggs (1.5 x 1 inches) marked with pale yellow brown and black. Incubation made by both sexes lasts 24-27 days and the young fledge to the 17th day.

It’s a wader species. It runs along the sandy beaches on the edge of the breaking waves. It is seen on its own or in small groups.

Sanderlings Speed Along the Ocean’s EdgePodcast – These delightful little shorebirds can be seen scurrying on beaches around the world.

Series of « kip-kip-kip… »

It captures the shellfish when waves withdraw. It also eats insects (larvae and adults).

Location

It breeds in the Arctic from June to August and winters from September to May in the tropical Pacific. It is common in Hawaii and the Marshall Islands but is rare in French Polynesia. Present in the East Tuamotu and the Marquesas. It has also been reported in Scilly, Maupiti, Huahine Tahiti and Raivavae (Austral Islands).

Breeding

It occurs only in the Arctic. It nests in gravel. The female lays 3-4 eggs (1.5 x 1 inches) marked with pale yellow brown and black. Incubation made by both sexes lasts 24-27 days and the young fledge to the 17th day.

Habitat

It’s a wader species. It runs along the sandy beaches on the edge of the breaking waves. It is seen on its own or in small groups.

Sanderlings Speed Along the Ocean’s EdgePodcast – These delightful little shorebirds can be seen scurrying on beaches around the world.

Voice

Series of « kip-kip-kip… »

Food

It captures the shellfish when waves withdraw. It also eats insects (larvae and adults).

Status and protection

The Sanderling remains abundant and is not threatened. However, it is much rarer in French Polynesia than other shorebirds such as the Wandering Tattler (Tringa incana), the Pacific Golden Plover (Pluvialis fulva) and the Bristle-thighed Curlew (Numenius tahitiensis). The species is classified as “Least Concern” (LC) on the IUCN Red List.

Original text by Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Supplements and update by various members of the SOP Manu.

• Nom scientifiqueCalidris alba (Pallas, 1764)
  • Noms polynésiensTuri, tuki (Marquises)
  • OrdreCharadriiformes
  • FamilleScolopacidae
  • Catégorie : Oiseaux migrateurs
  • Distribution : Arctique (originaire), Iles tropicales
  • Status :
    UICN France : Vulnérable

Aspect et identification

20 cm. Mâle et femelle d’apparence identique. Lorsqu’il hiverne en Polynésie française, son plumage est gris-beige dessus et blanc dessous. La calotte et le pourtour de l’œil reprennent la coloration générale du dos. Le bec et les pattes sont noirs. C’est le plus pâle des bécasseaux présents sur le Territoire.

Vidéos

Voix

Caractéristiques

Il se reproduit en Arctique de juin à août et hiverne de septembre à mai dans le Pacifique tropical. Il est commun à Hawaii et aux Iles Marshall mais reste rare en Polynésie française. Présent dans les Tuamotu de l’Est et aux Marquises. On l’a signalé aussi à Scilly, Maupiti, Huahine et Tahiti ainsi qu’à Raivavae (Archipel des Australes).

lle a lieu en Arctique seulement. Il niche dans une dépression de gravier. La femelle pond 3 à 4 œufs (36 x 25 mm) jaune pâle marqués de marron et de noir. L’incubation, faite par les deux sexes, dure 24 à 27 jours et les jeunes prennent leur envol vers le 17ème jour.

C’est une espèce limicole. Il court le long des plages de sable à la lisière du déferlement des vagues. On l’aperçoit solitaire ou en petit groupe.

Série de « kip-kip-kip… »

Il saisit les mollusques et les crustacés exposés lors du retrait des vagues. Il consomme également des insectes (larves et adultes).

Distribution

Il se reproduit en Arctique de juin à août et hiverne de septembre à mai dans le Pacifique tropical. Il est commun à Hawaii et aux Iles Marshall mais reste rare en Polynésie française. Présent dans les Tuamotu de l’Est et aux Marquises. On l’a signalé aussi à Scilly, Maupiti, Huahine et Tahiti ainsi qu’à Raivavae (Archipel des Australes).

Reproduction

lle a lieu en Arctique seulement. Il niche dans une dépression de gravier. La femelle pond 3 à 4 œufs (36 x 25 mm) jaune pâle marqués de marron et de noir. L’incubation, faite par les deux sexes, dure 24 à 27 jours et les jeunes prennent leur envol vers le 17ème jour.

Habitat
C’est une espèce limicole. Il court le long des plages de sable à la lisière du déferlement des vagues. On l’aperçoit solitaire ou en petit groupe.
Voix

Série de « kip-kip-kip… »

Alimentation

Il saisit les mollusques et les crustacés exposés lors du retrait des vagues. Il consomme également des insectes (larves et adultes).

Statut et protection

Le Bécasseau Sanderling reste abondant et n’est pas menacé. Il est toutefois beaucoup plus rare en Polynésie française que les autres oiseaux visiteurs limicoles que sont le Chevalier errant (Tringa incana), le Pluvier fauve (Pluvialis fulva) et le Courlis d’Alaska (Numenius tahitiensis).

L’espèce est classée « préoccupation mineure » (LC) sur la liste rouge de l’UICN.

Texte original de Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Compléments et mise à jour par divers membres de la SOP Manu.