• Scientific Name: Vini peruviana (Statius Müller, 1776)
  • Polynesian Names: Vini (Society), viru (Tahiti), vini pa tea (adults/Tahiti), vini pa uri (subadults/Tahiti)
  • Order: Psittaciformes
  • Family: Psittacidae
  • Category: Endemic Birds
  • Location: Society, Tuamotu, Iles Cook

Apearance and identification

7 inches. Male and female identical in appearance. Small parakeet beak and bright orange legs. It is completely dark blue except the cheeks, throat and the base of the chest which are white. Its flight is fast.

Video

Voice

Characteristics

In the Society Islands, the species is still present on Bellinghausen, Scilly and Mopelia but is no longer present in Tahiti, Moorea, Mehetia, Bora Bora, Raiatea, Tahaa and Huahine. In the Tuamotu Archipelago, it is still present in Rangiroa, Tikehau, Apataki, Arutua and Kaukura. It seems to have disappeared from Ahe, Takapoto, Niau, Makatea. Faaite individuals were not controlled for a long time. Also present in the Cook Islands where it only survives on Aitutaki.

Nests in the cavities of certain trees such as the fara (Pandanus tectorius) and on top of decapitated coconut trees. Very little is known about its reproduction. Active nests are found in December and August. There are two eggs (19 x 17 mm) per clutch.

In coconut plantations and groves of atolls only. It would not be surprising that the species would only be present on black rat free islets.

Acute and prolonged whistlings, similar calls made by Lori ultramarine (Vini ultramarina).

Nectar of the Tohonu flowers (Tournefortia argentea) haari (Cocos nucifera) and tafano (Guettarda speciosa).
Location

In the Society Islands, the species is still present on Bellinghausen, Scilly and Mopelia but is no longer present in Tahiti, Moorea, Mehetia, Bora Bora, Raiatea, Tahaa and Huahine. In the Tuamotu Archipelago, it is still present in Rangiroa, Tikehau, Apataki, Arutua and Kaukura. It seems to have disappeared from Ahe, Takapoto, Niau, Makatea. Faaite individuals were not controlled for a long time. Also present in the Cook Islands where it only survives on Aitutaki.

Breeding

Nests in the cavities of certain trees such as the fara (Pandanus tectorius) and on top of decapitated coconut trees. Very little is known about its reproduction. Active nests are found in December and August. There are two eggs (19 x 17 mm) per clutch.

Habitat

In coconut plantations and groves of atolls only. It would not be surprising that the species would only be present on black rat free islets.

Voice

Acute and prolonged whistlings, similar calls made by Lori ultramarine (Vini ultramarina).

Food
Nectar of the Tohonu flowers (Tournefortia argentea) haari (Cocos nucifera) and tafano (Guettarda speciosa).

Status and protection

The species is threatened. Predation by black rat is the main reason. The introduction of the Swamp Harrier (Circus approximans) and cats are also mentioned as causes of disappearance but to a lesser extent, compared to the devastating impact of the black rat when it colonizes its habitat.

The species is listed in category A of the list of species protected by the territorial regulations of French Polynesia.

It is also classified as “Vulnerable” (VU) on the IUCN Red List and listed in Appendix II of the Washington Convention.

Original text by Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Supplements and update by various members of the SOP Manu.

• Nom scientifique : Vini peruviana (Statius Müller, 1776)
  • Noms polynésiens : Vini (îles de la Société), viru (Tahiti), vini pa tea (adultes/Tahiti), vini pa uri (immatures/Tahiti)
  • OrdrePsittaciformes
  • FamillePsittacidae
  • Catégorie : Oiseaux terrestres endémiques
  • Distribution : Société, Tuamotu, Iles Cook

Aspect et identification

18 cm. Mâle et femelle d’apparence identique. Petit oiseau au bec et aux pattes orange vif. Entièrement bleu-nuit sauf les joues, la gorge et la base de la poitrine qui sont blanches. Ce plumage qui évoque la tenue des nonnes lui a valu son nom français de « Lori nonnette ». Son vol est rapide et battu.

Vidéo

Voix

Caractéristiques

Dans l’archipel de la Société, l’espèce est toujours présente sur Bellinghausen, Scilly et Mopelia mais éteinte sur Tahiti, Moorea, Mehetia, Bora Bora, Raiatea, Tahaa et Huahine. Dans l’archipel des Tuamotu, elle est toujours présente à Rangiroa, Tikehau, Apataki, Arutua et Kaukura. Elle semble avoir disparu de Ahe, Takapoto, Niau, Makatea. Les populations de Faaite n’ont pas été contrôlées depuis longtemps. Présente aussi aux Iles Cook où elle ne persiste plus que sur Aitutaki.

Niche dans les cavités de certains arbres tel que les fara (Pandanus tectorius) et au sommet des cocotiers décapités. Très peu de données sont disponibles sur sa reproduction. Des nids en activité ont été trouvés en décembre et en août. Il y a deux œufs (de 19 x 17 mm) par couvée.

Dans les cocoteraies et les bosquets des atolls uniquement. Il ne serait pas surprenant que l’espèce ne soit plus présente que sur les îlots indemnes de rats noirs.

Sifflements, aigus et prolongés, proches de ceux émis par le Lori ultramarin (Vini ultramarina).

Nectar de fleurs de tohonu (Tournefortia argentea), haari (Cocos nucifera) et de tafano (Guettarda speciosa).
Distribution

Dans l’archipel de la Société, l’espèce est toujours présente sur Bellinghausen, Scilly et Mopelia mais éteinte sur Tahiti, Moorea, Mehetia, Bora Bora, Raiatea, Tahaa et Huahine. Dans l’archipel des Tuamotu, elle est toujours présente à Rangiroa, Tikehau, Apataki, Arutua et Kaukura. Elle semble avoir disparu de Ahe, Takapoto, Niau, Makatea. Les populations de Faaite n’ont pas été contrôlées depuis longtemps. Présente aussi aux Iles Cook où elle ne persiste plus que sur Aitutaki.

Reproduction

Niche dans les cavités de certains arbres tel que les fara (Pandanus tectorius) et au sommet des cocotiers décapités. Très peu de données sont disponibles sur sa reproduction. Des nids en activité ont été trouvés en décembre et en août. Il y a deux œufs (de 19 x 17 mm) par couvée.

Habitat

Dans les cocoteraies et les bosquets des atolls uniquement. Il ne serait pas surprenant que l’espèce ne soit plus présente que sur les îlots indemnes de rats noirs.

Voix

Sifflements, aigus et prolongés, proches de ceux émis par le Lori ultramarin (Vini ultramarina).

Alimentation
Nectar de fleurs de tohonu (Tournefortia argentea), haari (Cocos nucifera) et de tafano (Guettarda speciosa).

Statut et protection

L’espèce est menacée d’extinction. La prédation exercée par le rat noir en est la raison principale. L’introduction du Busard de Gould (Circus approximans) et des chats sont aussi évoqués comme causes de disparition mais dans une moindre mesure toutefois par rapport à l’impact dévastateur qu’a le rat noir lorsqu’il colonise l’habitat.

L’espèce est inscrite en catégorie A sur la liste des espèces protégées par la réglementation territoriale de Polynésie française.
Elle est également classée « Vulnérable » (VU) sur la liste rouge de l’UICN et inscrite en Annexe II de la Convention de Washington.

Texte original de Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Compléments et mise à jour par divers membres de la SOP Manu.