• Scientific Name: Fregetta grallaria Murphy, 1928 – subspecie titan
  • Polynesian Names: Korue (Rapa)
  • Order: Charadriiformes
  • Family: Laridae
  • CategorySeabirds
  • Location: Society, Austral, Tuamotu, Gambier, Marquesas

Apearance and identification

7-8 inches. Male and female identical in appearance. Little sea bird which ventral area is dark except for the rump which is white. The underside is black striped with white. Throat, upper chest and underside of the tail are black, the belly is white. Its black and webbed legs are relatively short for a storm-petrel. Its black beak is hardly hooked at its end and surmounted by two horny tubes upon which the nostrils open. The tail is rounded.

These birds have a characteristic flight: they seem to hit the surface of the sea with the chest, then use their legs to rebound.

Videos

Voice

No media

Characteristics

The population of Rapa is a sub species endemic to this island (Fregetta Grallaria titan), where it reproduces. This bird is only a visitor in the rest of the Austral Islands, the Marquesas, Tahiti and Moorea. Apart from French Polynesia, it reproduces on the Kermadec Islands, Lord Howe, and Juan Fernandez, in the Indian Ocean and the South Atlantic.

Breeds at the end of the austral summer in Rapa (December to May). It is active at night. It nests in burrows or on small crevasse. The egg is white with small pink dots, and measures 38 x 27 mm. Reproduction is studied outside French Polynesia. The egg is incubated for 40 days by both sexes.

Pelagic, it nests on small islets around Rapa from 3 to 4 meters above the sea level.

Pee-pee-pee-pee “or” little-little-little “perched high and repeated 20 consecutive times during the parade and in the nests.

Squids and planktonic crustaceans.

Location

The population of Rapa is a sub species endemic to this island (Fregetta Grallaria titan), where it reproduces. This bird is only a visitor in the rest of the Austral Islands, the Marquesas, Tahiti and Moorea. Apart from French Polynesia, it reproduces on the Kermadec Islands, Lord Howe, and Juan Fernandez, in the Indian Ocean and the South Atlantic.

Breeding

Breeds at the end of the austral summer in Rapa (December to May). It is active at night. It nests in burrows or on small crevasse. The egg is white with small pink dots, and measures 38 x 27 mm. Reproduction is studied outside French Polynesia. The egg is incubated for 40 days by both sexes.

Habitat

Pelagic, it nests on small islets around Rapa from 3 to 4 meters above the sea level.

Voice

Pee-pee-pee-pee “or” little-little-little “perched high and repeated 20 consecutive times during the parade and in the nests.

Food

Squids and planktonic crustaceans.

Status and protection

The species is classified as « Least Concern » (LC) on the IUCN Red List but listed as « Endangered » (EN) on the France and Polynesia 2015 UICN Red List.

Original text by Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Supplements and update by various members of the SOP Manu.

• Nom scientifique : Fregetta grallaria Murphy, 1928 – sous-espèce titan
  • Nom polynésiens : Korue (Rapa)
  • Ordre : Charadriiformes
  • Famille : Laridae
  • Catégorie : Oiseaux de mer
  • Distribution : Société, Australes, Tuamotu, Gambier, Marquises
  • Status
    UICN France
    En Danger d’extinction

Aspect et identification

18-20 cm. Mâle et femelle d’apparence identique. Petit oiseau de mer dont le dessus du corps est sombre à l’exception du croupion qui est blanc. Le dessous des ailes est noir barré de blanc (au niveau des couvertures moyennes et des grandes couvertures). La gorge, le haut de la poitrine et le dessous de la queue sont noirs, le ventre est blanc. Ses pattes sont relativement courtes pour une océanite, noires et palmées. Le bec, noir, est à peine crochu à son extrémité et surmonté de deux tubes cornés au bout desquels s’ouvrent les narines. La queue est arrondie.

Ces oiseaux présentent un vol caractéristique : ils donnent l’impression de frapper la surface de la mer avec la poitrine, puis utilisent leurs pattes pour repartir vers le haut.

Vidéos

Voix

Aucune donnée disponible

Caractéristiques

La population de Rapa est une sous espèce endémique de cette île (Fregetta grallaria titan), où elle se reproduit. Cet oiseau est seulement visiteur dans le reste de l’archipel des Australes, aux Marquises, à Tahiti et Moorea. En dehors de la Polynésie française, il se reproduit aux îles Kermadec, Lord Howe, et Juan Fernandez, dans l’Océan Indien et dans l’Atlantique Sud.

Se reproduit à la fin de l’été austral à Rapa (de décembre à mai). Il est actif de nuit. Il niche dans un terrier ou sur une faille. L’œuf est blanc avec des petits points roses, et mesure 38 x 27 mm. La reproduction a été étudiée en dehors de la Polynésie française. L’œuf est incubé 40 jours par les deux sexes.

Pélagique, il niche dans des petits îlots autour de Rapa à 3 ou 4 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer.

Pee-pee-pee-pee » ou « peu-peu-peu » hauts perchés et répétés 20 fois de suite pendant la parade et dans les nids. Vocalisation sifflée.

Calamars et crustacés planctoniques.

Distribution

La population de Rapa est une sous espèce endémique de cette île (Fregetta grallaria titan), où elle se reproduit. Cet oiseau est seulement visiteur dans le reste de l’archipel des Australes, aux Marquises, à Tahiti et Moorea. En dehors de la Polynésie française, il se reproduit aux îles Kermadec, Lord Howe, et Juan Fernandez, dans l’Océan Indien et dans l’Atlantique Sud.

Reproduction

Se reproduit à la fin de l’été austral à Rapa (de décembre à mai). Il est actif de nuit. Il niche dans un terrier ou sur une faille. L’œuf est blanc avec des petits points roses, et mesure 38 x 27 mm. La reproduction a été étudiée en dehors de la Polynésie française. L’œuf est incubé 40 jours par les deux sexes.

Habitat

Pélagique, il niche dans des petits îlots autour de Rapa à 3 ou 4 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer.

Voix

Pee-pee-pee-pee » ou « peu-peu-peu » hauts perchés et répétés 20 fois de suite pendant la parade et dans les nids. Vocalisation sifflée.

Alimentation

Calamars et crustacés planctoniques.

Statut et protection

Espèce classée « Préoccupation mineure » (LC) sur la liste rouge de l’UICN mais portée « En danger » (EN) sur la liste rouge 2015 de l’UICN France et Polynésie française.

Texte original de Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Compléments et mise à jour par divers membres de la SOP Manu.