• Scientific Names: Acrocephalus percernis (Wetmore, 1919) (Marquises nord) – Acrocephalus mendanae Tristram, 1883 (Marquises sud)
  • Polynesian Names: Komako, koma’o (Nuku Hiva), komao taifa (Hiva Oa)
  • Order: Passeriformes
  • Family: Acrocephalidae
  • CategoryEndemic Birds
  • location: Marquesas

Apearance and identification

7 inches. Male and female identical in appearance. The cap is erectile and brown with yellow spots. Wings and the upper side of the tail have black-brown feathers piped with yellow. A black line goes from the eye of the base of the beak to the neck. The rest of the body is much more yellow than for all other warblers. The beak is long, yellow with a black outline on top. The legs are black.

Videos

Voice

Characteristics

Present in many islands of the Marquesas, where it remains common (Nuku Hiva, Ua Huka, Ua Pou, Tahuata, Fatu Hiva, Mohotani) or rarer (Hatutu, Eiao, Hiva Oa). Despite an identical phenotype, it exists two species: A. percenis in the northern group of the Marquesas (except Ua Pou) and A. mendanae in the southern group of the Marquesas and Ua Pou.

The nests contain two to three pale blue eggs with blackish grey dots and on the wider side (24 x 15 mm). It is possible that the species breeds throughout the year, although it seems the young would for most of them, leave the nest around May and June on Ua Huka.

Gardens and wooded areas of the islands where it particularly likes dry areas. It is abundant, even at high altitude, including Nuku Hiva. Frequently hunting on the ground, which is unusual for the genus.

Melodious songs, “tululu”, “tri-tri-tri-tri” and “chrou”. The songs are less varied than those of the Tahiti Reed-warbler (Acrocephalus caffer).

Insects and lizards are the basis of his diet. Sometimes it eats plants.

Location

Present in many islands of the Marquesas, where it remains common (Nuku Hiva, Ua Huka, Ua Pou, Tahuata, Fatu Hiva, Mohotani) or rarer (Hatutu, Eiao, Hiva Oa). Despite an identical phenotype, it exists two species: A. percenis in the northern group of the Marquesas (except Ua Pou) and A. mendanae in the southern group of the Marquesas and Ua Pou.

Breeding

The nests contain two to three pale blue eggs with blackish grey dots and on the wider side (24 x 15 mm). It is possible that the species breeds throughout the year, although it seems the young would for most of them, leave the nest around May and June on Ua Huka.

Habitat

Gardens and wooded areas of the islands where it particularly likes dry areas. It is abundant, even at high altitude, including Nuku Hiva. Frequently hunting on the ground, which is unusual for the genus.

Voice

Melodious songs, “tululu”, “tri-tri-tri-tri” and “chrou”. The songs are less varied than those of the Tahiti Reed-warbler (Acrocephalus caffer).

Food

Insects and lizards are the basis of his diet. Sometimes it eats plants.

Status and protection

The species are not threatened and are listed in category A, on the list of species protected by the territorial regulations of French Polynesia.
They are classified as “Least Concern” (LC) on the IUCN Red List.
Northern Marquesan Reed-warbler
Southern Marquesan Reed-warbler

Texte original de Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Compléments et mise à jour par divers membres de la SOP Manu.

• Nom scientifiqueAcrocephalus percernis (Wetmore, 1919) (Marquises nord) – Acrocephalus mendanae Tristram, 1883 (Marquises sud)
  • Noms polynésiens : Komako, koma’o (Nuku Hiva), komao taifa (Hiva Oa)
  • Ordre : Passeriformes
  • Famille : Acrocephalidae
  • Catégorie : Oiseaux terrestres endémiques
  • Distribution : Marquises

Aspect et identification

18 cm. Mâle et femelle d’apparence identique. La calotte, érectile, est marron avec des tâches jaunes. Les ailes et le dessus de la queue ont des plumes marron-noir liserées de jaune. Une bande noire traverse l’œil de la base du bec à la nuque. Le reste du corps est jaune, nettement plus que chez toutes les autres rousserolles. Le bec est long, jaune avec un liseré noir dessus. Les pattes sont noires.

Vidéos

Voix

Caractéristiques

Présente dans de nombreuses îles des Marquises, où elle reste fréquente (Nuku Hiva, Ua Huka, Ua Pou, Tahuata, Fatu Hiva, Mohotani) ou plus rare (Hatutu, Eiao, Hiva Oa). Malgré un phénotype identique il existe bien deux espèces : A. percenis dans le groupe nord des Marquises (sauf Ua Pou) et A. mendanae dans le groupe sud des Marquises et Ua Pou.

Les nids contiennent deux à trois œufs bleu-pâle avec des points noirâtres et gris concentrés sur le côté le plus large, de 24 x 15 mm. Il est possible que l’espèce niche toute l’année, même s’il semble y avoir des pics pour l’envol des jeunes, notamment en mai-juin sur Ua Huka.

Jardins et zones boisées des îles où elle affectionne particulièrement les zones sèches. Elle est abondante, même en altitude, notamment à Nuku Hiva et chasse fréquemment au sol, ce qui est inhabituel pour le genre.

Chants mélodieux, « tulululu », « tri-tri-tri-tri » et « chrou » caractéristiques du genre. Les chants sont moins variés que ceux de la Rousserolle à long bec de Tahiti (Acrocephalus caffer).

Insectes et lézards sont la base de son alimentation. Elle se nourrit parfois de végétaux.

Distribution

Présente dans de nombreuses îles des Marquises, où elle reste fréquente (Nuku Hiva, Ua Huka, Ua Pou, Tahuata, Fatu Hiva, Mohotani) ou plus rare (Hatutu, Eiao, Hiva Oa). Malgré un phénotype identique il existe bien deux espèces : A. percenis dans le groupe nord des Marquises (sauf Ua Pou) et A. mendanae dans le groupe sud des Marquises et Ua Pou.

Reproduction

Les nids contiennent deux à trois œufs bleu-pâle avec des points noirâtres et gris concentrés sur le côté le plus large, de 24 x 15 mm. Il est possible que l’espèce niche toute l’année, même s’il semble y avoir des pics pour l’envol des jeunes, notamment en mai-juin sur Ua Huka.

Habitat

Jardins et zones boisées des îles où elle affectionne particulièrement les zones sèches. Elle est abondante, même en altitude, notamment à Nuku Hiva et chasse fréquemment au sol, ce qui est inhabituel pour le genre.

Voix

Chants mélodieux, « tulululu », « tri-tri-tri-tri » et « chrou » caractéristiques du genre. Les chants sont moins variés que ceux de la Rousserolle à long bec de Tahiti (Acrocephalus caffer).

Alimentation

Insectes et lézards sont la base de son alimentation. Elle se nourrit parfois de végétaux.

Statut et protection

Les deux espèces ne sont pas menacées.
Elles sont inscrites en catégorie A, sur la liste des espèces protégées par la réglementation territoriale de Polynésie française.
Elles sont classées « préoccupation mineure » (LC) sur la liste rouge de l’UICN.
Northern Marquesan Reed-warbler
Southern Marquesan Reed-warbler

Texte original de Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Compléments et mise à jour par divers membres de la SOP Manu.