• Scientific Name: Thalasseus bergii (Lichtenstein, 1823)
  • Polynesian Names: Tarapapa (Society), tara (north Tuamotu), tarara (Gambier)
  • Order: Charadriiformes
  • Family: Laridae
  • CategorySeabirds
  • Location: Tuamotu, Society – Indian and Asian Oceans – West and central Pacific Ocean

Appearance and identification

17-19 inches. Male and female identical in appearance. The cap is black from eyes and to the top of the head with and erectile crest on the nape. The coat is grey. The rest of the body is white. The beak is pale yellow. The legs are black and short. This bird has a straight beak, sharp and tapered wings and a long forked tail which is

Videos

Voice

Characteristics

Asian and Indian Ocean; Western and Central Pacific. It is found in the Tuamotus and Society Islands but is absent in the Marquesas and the Austral yet the species is known by the residents of Rurutu.

The nests are simple hole in the sand a few meters from the shore, and very close to each other. Reproduction is studied outside French Polynesia. A grey egg (61 x 41 mm) is incubated for 25-26 days by both sexes. Chicks, once aged of 15 days, gather in nurseries, and are able to swim to escape danger.

Stays near the coast where it lives in groups.

Powerful “kirrik”, “wep, wep …” during the parade and in flight.

It hunts for fish (including flying fish) in the shallow water of the lagoons or at sea but rarely more than 1 to 2 km away from the coast.

Location

Asian and Indian Ocean; Western and Central Pacific. It is found in the Tuamotus and Society Islands but is absent in the Marquesas and the Austral yet the species is known by the residents of Rurutu.

Breeding

The nests are simple hole in the sand a few meters from the shore, and very close to each other. Reproduction is studied outside French Polynesia. A grey egg (61 x 41 mm) is incubated for 25-26 days by both sexes. Chicks, once aged of 15 days, gather in nurseries, and are able to swim to escape danger.

Habitat

Stays near the coast where it lives in groups.

Voice

Powerful “kirrik”, “wep, wep …” during the parade and in flight.

Food

It hunts for fish (including flying fish) in the shallow water of the lagoons or at sea but rarely more than 1 to 2 km away from the coast.

Status and protection

Common species in Polynesia.

The species is classified as “Least Concern” (LC) on the IUCN Red List but « Vulnerable » (VU) on the France and Polynesia 2015 UICN Red List.

Original text by Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Supplements and update by various members of the SOP Manu.

• Nom scientifique : Thalasseus bergii (Lichtenstein, 1823)
  • Nom polynésiens : Tarapapa (Société), tara (Tuamotu nord), tarara (Gambier)
  • Ordre : Charadriiformes
  • Famille : Laridae
  • Catégorie : Oiseaux de mer
  • Distribution : Tuamotu, Société – Océan Indien et Asiatique – Pacifique Ouest et Central
  • Status :
    UICN France : Vulnérable

Aspect et identification

44-48 cm. Mâle et femelle d’apparence identique. La calotte est noire jusqu’aux yeux et s’allonge en une crête érectile sur la nuque. Le manteau est gris. Le reste du corps est blanc. Le bec est jaune pâle. Les pattes sont noires et courtes. Possède le bec droit, les ailes pointues et effilées et la longue queue fourchue caractéristique des sternes.

Vidéos

Voix

Caractéristiques

Océan Indien et Asiatique ; Pacifique Ouest et Central. On la trouve aux Tuamotu et aux îles de la Société mais elle est absente aux Marquises et aux Australes où cependant les habitants de Rurutu disent connaître l’espèce.

Les nids sont de simples dépressions dans le sable à quelques mètres du rivage, et très proches les uns des autres. La reproduction a été étudiée en dehors de la Polynésie française. Un œuf gris de 61 x 41 mm est incubé pendant 25-26 jours par les deux sexes. Les poussins, une fois âgés de 15 jours, se rassemblent en crèches, et sont capables de nager pour fuir un danger.

Reste près des côtes où elle vit en groupe.

Puissants « kirrik », « wep, wep… » pendant la parade. Cris émis en vol.

Elle pêche des poissons (notamment des poissons volant) dans les eaux peu profondes des lagons ou en mer mais rarement à plus de 1 à 2 km des côtes.

Distribution

Océan Indien et Asiatique ; Pacifique Ouest et Central. On la trouve aux Tuamotu et aux îles de la Société mais elle est absente aux Marquises et aux Australes où cependant les habitants de Rurutu disent connaître l’espèce.

Reproduction

Les nids sont de simples dépressions dans le sable à quelques mètres du rivage, et très proches les uns des autres. La reproduction a été étudiée en dehors de la Polynésie française. Un œuf gris de 61 x 41 mm est incubé pendant 25-26 jours par les deux sexes. Les poussins, une fois âgés de 15 jours, se rassemblent en crèches, et sont capables de nager pour fuir un danger.

Habitat

Reste près des côtes où elle vit en groupe.

Voix

Puissants « kirrik », « wep, wep… » pendant la parade. Cris émis en vol.

Alimentation

Elle pêche des poissons (notamment des poissons volant) dans les eaux peu profondes des lagons ou en mer mais rarement à plus de 1 à 2 km des côtes.

Statut et protection

Espèce commune en Polynésie et sur son aire de distribution.
L’espèce est classée « Préoccupation mineure » (LC) sur la liste rouge de l’UICN mais « Vulnérable » (VU) sur la liste rouge 2015 France et Polynésie française de l’UICN.

Texte original de Caroline BLANVILLAIN – Compléments et mise à jour par divers membres de la SOP Manu.